Version: 2021.1
  • C#


Suggest a change


Thank you for helping us improve the quality of Unity Documentation. Although we cannot accept all submissions, we do read each suggested change from our users and will make updates where applicable.


Submission failed

For some reason your suggested change could not be submitted. Please <a>try again</a> in a few minutes. And thank you for taking the time to help us improve the quality of Unity Documentation.



Switch to Manual
public int layer;


The layer the GameObject is in.

You can use Layers for selective rendering from cameras or to ignore Raycasts. Unity generates 32 layers, labelled with integers from 0 to 31 and reserves layers 0 to 5 for its own systems. You can use layers 5 and above. To add or view a layer, click the Layout button in the top-right of the Editor window.

// Put the game object in the ignore raycast layer (2)

using UnityEngine;

[ExecuteInEditMode] public class ExampleClass : MonoBehaviour { void Awake() { //gameObject.layer uses only integers, but we can turn a layer name into a layer integer using LayerMask.NameToLayer() int LayerIgnoreRaycast = LayerMask.NameToLayer("Ignore Raycast"); gameObject.layer = LayerIgnoreRaycast; Debug.Log("Current layer: " + gameObject.layer); } }