Legacy Documentation: Version 2018.2 (Go to current version)
  • C#


Suggest a change


Thank you for helping us improve the quality of Unity Documentation. Although we cannot accept all submissions, we do read each suggested change from our users and will make updates where applicable.


Submission failed

For some reason your suggested change could not be submitted. Please <a>try again</a> in a few minutes. And thank you for taking the time to help us improve the quality of Unity Documentation.



Switch to Manual
public int layer;


The layer the game object is in.

Layers can be used for selective rendering from cameras or ignoring raycasts. Unity generates 32 layers. Layers from 8 and above are unused. They can be used for specific game reasons. Layers are named and used during the development of the game. Layers are added and viewed by clicking the top-right editor Layout button.

// Put the game object in the ignore raycast layer (2)

using UnityEngine; using System.Collections;

public class ExampleClass : MonoBehaviour { void Example() { gameObject.layer = 2; } }

Did you find this page useful? Please give it a rating: