In-Progress edit notifications
Moving your Project to another version control system

Managing cloud storage

The Collaborate service uses cloud storage to backup your entire Project in the cloud and make it accessible anywhere.

This topic covers:

Determining how much storage your Projects are using

Cloud storage is calculated on a per Organization basis. Unity calculates the amount of cloud storage that your Organization is using by summing the size of the latest versions of all your Organization’s Collaborate Projects. Only the latest version of your project counts towards your storage limit. Historical (non-head) versions of your Projects do not count towards cloud storage.

To view your current storage usage:

  1. Sign into the Unity Developer Dashboard.
  2. Select a Project in the Organization whose storage you want to view.
  3. In the left navigation window, click Settings, then click Usage.

In the main Project window there are tiles that show:

  • Cloud storage - How much storage the current Project is using compared to the rest of the Projects in your Organization, and your entire cloud storage space.
  • Percent of storage per project - How much storage is used by each Project in your Organization.
  • Storage used by <Project name> over time - How much storage the current Project has used since it was created, until the current time.

Adding more storage

You can obtain more cloud storage in two ways:

  • Upgrade to Unity Teams Advanced, which also provides 25GB of cloud storage.
  • Purchase Storage Packs on the Unity ID dashboard. Each storage Pack adds 25GB of cloud storage to an Organization.

Upgrading to Unity Teams Advanced

To upgrade to Unity Teams Advanced, visit the Unity Teams page at unity3d.com/teams. On the Unity Teams page you can learn more about the features of Unity Teams Advanced and then upgrade.

Purchase storage packs

To add storage packs:

  1. Sign in to the Unity ID dashboard.
  2. In the left navigation bar, click Organizations.
  3. In the main Organizations window, select an Organization.
  4. In the left navigation bar, click Service Usage.
  5. In the Usage overview window, click the Manage storage button.
  6. On the Add cloud storage dialog, select the amount of storage that you need, and then click the Continue to purchase button. If you have only one Organization, proceed to step 6.
  7. In the Checkout window, enter your payment information and then click Pay now.

Modifying your contracted amount of storage

  1. Sign in to the Unity ID dashboard.
  2. In the left navigation window, click Organizations.
  3. In the main Organizations window, select an Organization.
  4. In the left navigation bar, click Service Usage. The Service Usage window displays your contract period and the number of storage packs that you are contracted for.
  5. In the Usage overview window, click the Manage storage button.
  6. On the Add cloud storage tab, enter the number of storage packs to add.
  7. Click the Next button.
  8. In the Review order window, review the order information and then click the Confirm purchase button.

You can reduce the number storage packs on the Manage subscription tab:

  • To remove all contracted storage packs, turn off Automatic Renewal. When automatic renewal is turned off, all storage packs are removed on the renewal date.
  • To reduce the number of storage packs that are renewed, enter the number of storage packs to renew in the Select the number of storage packs you want to renew upon renewal field.

Then click the Save button.

Cloud storage data retention

If you’re using Unity Teams Advanced, Unity does not delete any version history for your Projects.

If you’re using Unity Teams Basic, Unity stores your data in cloud storage for at least 1 year. Unity reserves the right to delete Project history older than 1 year. You always have access to the latest version of your Project, but you only have access to the last 90 days of your version history. If you’re using Unity Teams Basic and want full access to the last 1 year of your history, you must upgrade to Unity Teams Advanced. When you upgrade to Unity Teams Advanced, you have access to your full history going forward.

Reducing your cloud storage usage

You have three options to reduce your cloud storage usage:

  • Delete or reduce the size of Assets in your Project. It is important to remember that Project history does not count toward your cloud storage usage.
  • Archive unused Projects. See Archiving Projects.
  • Archive Projects for Collaborate only. Archiving a Project for Collaborate only allows you to free cloud storage space, while still being able to use other Unity services such as Ads, Analytics, and Performance Reporting. See Archiving Projects for Collaborate.

Archiving Projects

Archiving a Project automatically archives any Collaborate cloud storage associated with the Project and Unity services are no longer accessible.

To archive a Project:

  1. Sign into the Unity Developer Dashboard.
  2. Select the Project to archive.
  3. In the left navigation bar, click Settings, then click General.
  4. At the bottom of the main window, read the important note and, if you are certain you want to archive the Project, click the Archive my Project for ALL Unity services button. 
  5. In the Are you sure you want to archive this Project dialog, enter the name of the Project and then click the Yes, archive it button.

To unarchive a Project:

  1. Sign into the Unity Developer Dashboard.
  2. At the top right of the main window, under the CREATE NEW PROJECT button, click the View Archived Projects link.
  3. Locate the Project to reactivate, click the vertical ellipsis to the right of the Project name and then select Unarchive Project.

Archiving Projects for Collaborate

To archive a Project for Collaborate only:

  1. Sign into the Unity Developer Dashboard.
  2. Select the Project to archive.
  3. In the left navigation window, click Collaborate, then click Storage.
  4. In the main window, click the ARCHIVE button.

To unarchive a Project for Collaborate:

  1. Sign into the Unity Developer Dashboard.
  2. Select the Project to unarchive.
  3. In the left navigation window, click Collaborate, then click Storage.
  4. In the main window, click the UNARCHIVE button.

2018–07–16Page published

In-Progress edit notifications
Moving your Project to another version control system