For more information on Plastic SCM you can visit their website.
Plastic SCM automatically checks files out if they have been modified, this makes it more convenient for you. The only files that require specific checking out instructions are Project Settings files otherwise you can’t change them.
A merge is likely to happen when you have edited something in your project locally which has also been edited remotely (a conflict). This means you will need to review the changes before the merge can be performed. If Unity recognises that a merge must be completed before changes can be submitted then you will be prompted by Unity to complete the merge, this will take you to the Plastic SCM client.
If incoming changes conflict with local changes then a question mark icon will appear on conflicting files in the incoming changes window. Here is a quick guide to resolving conflicts and merging with Plastic SCM:
In order to lock files using Plastic SCM there are a few steps to follow:
The first thing you must do is create a lock.conf file and make sure it is placed within your server directory. You can find your server directory from “../PlasticSCM/server”.
In your lock.conf file you must specify the repository you are working on and the server that will complete the lock checks. Here is an example:
rep:default lockserver:localhost:8087 *.unity *.unity.meta
In this case all .unity and .unity.meta files are going to be locked for checkout on repository ‘default’.
If the steps have been followed correctly the terminal/command line window should now display a list of locked files. You can also test if this has worked by trying to check out the same file using a different user, an error will appear in Unity’s console saying the file is already checked out by another user.
For more information you can visit the Plastic SCM lock file documentation.
To find more about working in distributed mode (DVCS) and offline with Plastic SCM check the Distributed Version Control Guide.
Did you find this page useful? Please give it a rating: